elsewhere before and wished to improve upon their grades.
In 1947, the African Methodist Episcopal A M E Zion Church
took over the affairs of the school as a result of the agreement between
the 'Aggrey Society' and the A M E Zion Mission. The name was then changed
from Aggrey Memorial College to its present one - Aggrey Memorial A M
E Zion Secondary School. The first two boarders were also admitted in
that year and in the same year the Founder enrolled his own fresh students.
They were six boys and these were presented for the Cambridge School Certificate
Examination in 1950. All of them passed with one achieving exemption from
The school moved in October 1948 to a three storey premises called 'Old
Russell's on the site of the old Cape Coast Post Office near Cape Coast
Castle from 1948 to 1958.
In 1951, The A M E Zion Church acquired a 43 acre land which was released
as a deed of gift by the Nana Attobra Nsona Stool Family of Brafo Yaw
to the school
In 1952, the school entered an important landmark. The A M E Zion Church
commenced the building of the first block . The school was recognised
as 'Encouraged Secondary School' in receipt of Government grant -in -aid.
A new beginning was made in that year and since then the story of Aggrey
Memorial A M E Zion Sec Sch has been one of steady progress and improvement.
Eighteen years after being in temporary premises, the school moved into
its present and permanent site at Brafo Yaw near Cape Coast in January
1958. The girls however stayed in Cape Coast town in premises formerly
occupied by Prospect Printing Press until 21st January when they moved
to the permanent site at Brafo Yaw.
Currently there are 4 male houses and 3 female houses. A 4th female house
is under construction. The first science block which was a gift from Barclays
Bank DCO to commemorate Ghana's Independence was dedicated in 1957 3rd
Presently the school boast of a modern science
block part of which houses the district's Science Resource Center.
The school's Administration Block was completed in 1972.
In November 1995, a $900,000 ultra modern Chapel/Assembly Hall complex
was put up by Full Gospel A M E Zion Church, Maryland now known as From
The Heart Church Ministry. It was completed in February 1998 but was dedicated
earlier in June 1997 by His Lordship Bishop Matthew Warren Brown, the
Bishop of the Western West Africa Episcopal District of the A M E Zion
Infrastructure wise the school has seen a lot of improvement. For instance
, the school's dining hall has been expanded from its previous capacity
of 450 to currently seat 1500 students. Streets lights have also been
provided on campus.
In 1991 the school also started the educational reform programme which
saw the coming into being of the Senior Secondary Programme. Along side
the Ordinary and Advanced levels programmes.
The school has also chalked a first in being the only second cycle school
in the country to have fully computerised and networked its administrative
system. The school also runs a computer literacy class for all students in
the school to prepare them for the new world they would be entering after
LIST OF PAST HEADMASTERS
1. Rev Dr A W E Appiah (founder) 1940 -1952
2. Mr Emmanuel Biney 1952 - 1973
3. Mr Pascal Kodwo Dadzie Godwyll 1973 - 1986
4. Mr Clement Bernasko Pobee 1986 - 1997